Assigning employees

USERS MENU

 

To assign employees to time blocks, use the Users menu on the left side of you screen, under Setup.

 

1. Click on the next to Users. IMPORTANT: DO NOT CLICK THE WORD "USERS" ITSELF

 

8_2_2

 

2. A list of all available employees will be shown:

 

8_2_1

 

 

ASSIGNING THE EMPLOYEES

 

1. Select the time block or time blocks to which you wish to assign an employee.

 

2. Click the employee's name, or Open (Unassigned) in the user list (shown above)

 

That's it! The employee is now instantly assigned to the selected time blocks. Read the hints below to help avoid accidentally re-assigning when repeating assignments to different employees.

 

USING SELECTION MODES TO MAKE ASSIGNING EASIER

 

By default, when selecting time blocks you are in regular selection mode. This means that as you select more and more time blocks, your previous selections do not go away.  In this manner you accumulate a selection, until you clear the selection using the clear selection button (4_21_08a) .  However, when assigning employees, you may not want your previously selected time blocks to remain selected each time you select a new time block. You may find it easier to have WorkSchedule.Net automatically clear any previous selection every time you select.  This is called single selection mode. You can easily toggle between these two modes by clicking the (7_27_9) icon at the top. See changing the selection mode.

 

ASSIGNING AN EMPLOYEE TO ONE TIME BLOCK AT A TIME

 

Make sure single selection mode is ON. The mouse icon near the top of the screen should not have a star (like this 7_27_16). The single selection mode is a very handy feature if you want to make a number of assignments to several employees. More on changing the selection mode.

1.Select the time block.
2.Click on the employee that you want to assign from the Users menu.
3.The time block will be instantly updated and assigned to that employee.

 

ASSIGNING AN EMPLOYEE TO SEVERAL TIME BLOCKS

 

Make sure regular selection mode is ON. This mode is the default mode, where the mouse icon near the top of the screen has a star (like this 7_27_9). The regular selection mode is a handy feature if you want to assign a single employee to many time blocks. More on changing the selection mode.

1.Select the time blocks.
2.Click on the employee that you want to assign from the Users menu.
3.The time blocks will be instantly updated and assigned to that employee.